27400 Southfield Road Lathrup Village, MI 48076
(248) 557-2600

Boards, Commissions & Study Groups

Boards, Commissions, & Committees
Finance Review Committee

The City Council has created a committee of four (4) citizens to work with a Council Liaison and a City Administrator-appointed staff member to develop recommendations on potential future revenue sources, which may include ballot initiatives. 

June 4, 2024 - Finance Review Committee Meeting
June 4, 2024 - Finance Review Committee Meeting Synopsis

Opportunities for Citizen Involvement

Each year the City of Lathrup Village has opportunities to serve on one of our important Boards, or Commissions. We would encourage interested parties to complete a Board and Commissions application form and submit the same to the City Clerk for consideration. The following is a brief listing of some of these Boards, Commissions, and Committees for your information.


Board of Review

The three-member board consists of tax-paying Lathrup Village residents appointed by the City Council. The Board of Review reviews the assessment roll received from the Assessor to check to see if it is complete, accurate, uniform, and valid. They conduct public hearings in March to hear appeals from property owners.

Planning Commission
The Planning Commission was established in 2007 and consists of seven members. The Planning Commission is responsible for the preparation and implementation of the Master Plan, Capital Improvements Plan, administration of the zoning ordinance, and formulation of proposed policies on growth and redevelopment of the City. Term: 3 years. 

Downtown Development Authority (DDA)
The Downtown Development Authority is governed by a Board of Directors, appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. The DDA Board is comprised of residents, business owners, and elected officials who volunteer their time to improve the community. There is a 9-member Board.  By ordinance, at least 6 members must be persons having an interest in property located within the DDA district. The members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor, and approved by the City Council, for four-year terms. 

Historic District Commission
The purpose is to:
(1)  Safeguard the heritage of the city by preserving the cultural, social, economic, political, and architectural elements having historic significance;
(2)  Stabilize and improve property values in such districts;
(3)  Foster and promote property values in such districts;
(4)  Promote the use of local history for education, pleasure, and the welfare of the citizens of the city;
(5)  Encourage the collection of records and objects that interpret the history of this city and cooperate in the establishment and operation of a museum or other appropriate center for the custody and display of such items.